Do bosses lie?

Just a little personal experience:


 BOSS: "There will NOT be a layoff." 

REALITY: There was a layoff.


 BOSS: "There will be no more layoffs." 

REALITY: There were more layoffs.


 BOSS: "This will be the last layoff." 

REALITY: There were more layoffs.


 BOSS: "I will be the next person laid off." 

REALITY: He wasn't. Someone else was.


 BOSS: "I am instituting 35 hrs. pay for 40 hrs. work." 

REALITY: It lasted one pay period before the layoff.


 BOSS: "The corporate jet will be the next thing to go." 

REALITY: The corporate jet was still in place after the layoff.


 BOSS: "Customer XYZ will pay their bill next week." 

REALITY: Customer XYZ never paid their bill. Layoff instead.


 BOSS: "Finish this project and we're in the clear." 

REALITY: The project was finished. Then came the layoff.


 BOSS: "Indispensable employees will be spared." 

REALITY: No one was indispensable.


 BOSS: "We made our numbers. We'll be OK." 

REALITY: The SEC and IRS disagreed. We went out of business.


 BOSS: "U.S. manufacturing is solid and protected." 

REALITY: 400 jobs shipped to Haiti within 90 days.


 BOSS: "A layoff will be the last resort." 

REALITY: Layoff + executive auto leases still in place.


 BOSS: "I will promote you next week." 

REALITY: The company newsletter reported his girlfriend getting my job.


 BOSS: "Just help me get through this and I will reward you." 

REALITY: I helped him get through it. He didn't reward me. 


Sorry to say, moral of the story:


Q: How can you tell if the boss is lying? 

A: His mouth is moving.