What happens at Toastmasters?

1. Everyone who comes speaks to the entire group for 1 or 2 minutes. This was called “Table Topics”. A different member is assigned each week to administer the Table Topics. I remember one time the Table Topics person handed each one of us a paper bag that we had to open, remove the object inside, and give an interesting talk. My object was a clothes pin.

2. Everyone gets a mentor when they join to help them through the education.

3. Everyone cycles through the program at their own pace giving longer and longer prepared talks. 5:00, 10:00, 15:00, etc. You give one of these every month or so.

4. Every single talk is publicly critiqued by at least one judge. They are usually ruthless and very, very helpful. It took me months to stop playing with my hands when I talked. They finally got me to stop.

5. I remembered speaking about my business in all my prepared talks. I can’t imagine having a better place to practice than Toastmasters.