Can programming be boring?

Maybe “boring” is not the best word. Maybe we are really talking about “more fun” vs. “less fun”.

Naturally, some things are more fun that others, but I am never bored in my startup. Frustrated sometimes, yes. This week I lost a whole day because I had overlooked something simple one day last week. Had to retool the whole stupid thing when I really wanted to build the next level up. So the exciting part had to wait a day. No big deal. It happens. But was I ever “bored”? Hardly.
 
A little background. I sat in class bored to tears for 17 years. Then, I did work in 86 other companies (none of them mine) before I started this one. I have a clear vision of what I want and a fairly clear idea of how things should work. I love both the technical details and the people part. Usually, I can’t wait to get to the next thing.

The only thing I really don’t like is when a client calls for me to fix something on their crappy system. Shifting gears sucks.

Boring? No, I just don’t see it.