Issues vs. Details

I have a simple guideline for real life interactions with others that carries over quite well on-line, “Deal with issues; ignore details.” 

It’s amazing how well this works in person, especially when trying to get something done. My number one question to another is probably, “Is that an issue or a detail?” We can almost always decide together which it is. Then, if it’s an issue, we deal with it, and if it’s a detail, we move on to the next issue. 

This has also saved me countless hours and aggravation on-line. If I post something and someone disagrees, I quickly decide whether or not it’s really an issue and only engage the other if it is. I realize that this is just a judgment call, but I’d estimate about 90% of on-line disagreements are just details. In these cases, I think it’s best to simply move on.