What do you best remember from your MBA?

I understand OP’s sentiment. I place very high value on my MBA from the University of Pittsburgh, but for reasons one wouldn’t expect.

I remember almost nothing from the course material itself. You can get that from almost any book. The time value of money, how to read financial statements, the 4 P’s of marketing (or was it the 4 B’s?), different management theories, etc., etc., etc.

What I remember vividly are the interactions with other people, professors and other students, some of whom already had many years of experience. I’m not sure how else I could have had this experience. Some of my most vivid memories:

“A degree in business is a degree in nothing.” - management professor

“What is the correct answer to the question ‘How much money did you make?’ It’s always, ‘Who wants to know’?” - managerial accounting professor

A professor of Organizational Behavior told us that a survey of Yale MBA’s 25 years after graduation said that Organizational Behavior was their most important course. I couldn’t believe it. Years later, I believe it.

A case study had our team pick the next CEO from 4 managers. We were wrong. The actual result: They went outside, for reasons well explained.

Our group made a recommendation to a local business to restructure, letting a key person go. We got an “F” on the project, with the opportunity to go back and redo it without letting anyone go. We got the message.

A marketing professor was picking on stupid products, like Heinz gravy, when a student in the back offered, “I was the product manager for gravy at Heinz. It made us $60 million last quarter. If you’d like to use it for a case study some day, I’d be glad to help you with it.”

I don’t remember many specifics from class, but I know that I “think differently” because of that experience. Along with a technical background, this has been a great combination.