Why do you use such simple tools?

This question reminds me of the greatest cook ever, my grandmother. She used no technology whatsoever. All of her tools had been her mother’s which were probably manufactured in the 1800s. She chopped everything by hand in a wooden bowl. If anyone else helped her with the chopping, everyone at dinner could tell. She never used pencil or paper and measured nothing. She stood in line at the farmer’s market, the butcher, or the grocery store and inspected every item. And absolutely nothing I have ever eaten since, in any restaurant or home, has been remotely close to hers. It was magnificent! And I miss it so much.

I’d like to think I have almost as much passion about my work. I use the most primitive tools, 24 x 80 green screen editor, no framework, no IDE, no debugger, and mostly pencil and paper. I savor every byte just as I imagine my grandmother savored every little detail of her cooking. I’m not trying to save time or be fast, I just aspire to creating Grandma-quality software. I only hope my software brings someone the same joy her food
brought all of us.

I’ve used many different tools. And I rarely care how fancy they are. Ironically, the simpler, the more joy I have found along the way.